In the United States, over 1.5 million people are arrested for DUI offenses on an annual basis. Needless to say, states like Indiana have taken a hard stance on the offense, and with alcohol present in nearly every facet of society, it is important that you take the time to familiarize yourself with DUI laws and key facts in Indiana.
Remember, if you or someone you know was arrested for a DUI conviction, your priority should be to reach out to a criminal defense attorney who can provide reliable legal counsel. For now, here are a few key facts about DUI laws in the state of Indiana.
Implied Consent is the Law in Indiana
In Indiana, you have to relinquish a urine, breath, or blood sample when requested by law enforcement. Refusal to consent is a criminal offense as per the law, and your license is automatically revoked for a year. Not only that, but additional refusals down the line lead to longer periods of suspension. In general, refusal in Indiana will only worsen the consequences of your arrest.
Additional Factors Affect Potential Jail Time
DUIs are punished harshly in Indiana, and several factors go into play when defendants are sentenced to jail. Previous arrest or convictions, unusually high BACs, and resulting collisions or injuries all play a role into the sentencing that is handed down, which is why the representation of a qualified attorney is so critical.
Multiple Convictions Lead to Steeper Fines
Make no mistake, a single DUI/OWI conviction carries harsh penalties. First-time offenders face fines ranging from $500-$5,000 and up to a year in jail. However, repeat offenses ramp up these tough penalties even, and habitual offenders might face consequences such as fines up to $10,000, up to an additional eight years in jail, the suspension of your driver’s license for up to ten years, and more.
To learn more, call Attorney David R. Phillips, skilled criminal defense attorney, to schedule a free initial consultation. 219-929-7060. You may also fill out the form on our “contact us” page.